Strategic Advisors

Deborah Ancona, PhD
Seley Distinguished Professor of Management; Professor of Organization Studies; Faculty Director, MIT Leadership Center, MIT Sloan School of Management

Denny A. Ausiello, MD
CATCH Co-Founder, Director; Jackson Professor of Clinical Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Chief of Medicine, MGH; Director, Pfizer

Ernst Berndt, PhD
Louis E. Seley Professor in Applied Economics, MIT Sloan School of Management; Co-director Biomedical Enterprise Program

Charles L. Cooney, PhD
Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT; Faculty Director, Deshpande Center for Technological Innovation

Michael A. Cusumano, PhD
Sloan Management Review Distinguished Professor of Management, MIT Sloan School of Management

Elazer Edelman, MD, PhD, FACC
Thomas D & Virginia W Cabot Professor of HST, Health Sciences and Technology Program, MIT

Retsef Levi, PhD
J. Spencer Standish (1945) Professor of Management; Associate Professor of Operations Management, MIT Sloan School of Management

Andrew Lo, PhD
Charles E. and Susan T. Harris Professor of Finance; Director, Laboratory for Financial Engineering, MIT Sloan School of Management

Ram Sasisekharan, PhD
Director, Harvard – MIT Health Sciences and Technology, Edward Hood Taplin Professor of Health Sciences & Technology and Biological Engineering, MIT

Phillip A. Sharp, PhD
Institute Professor, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, MIT

Anthony Sinskey, ScD
Faculty Director, CBI; Professor of Biology and Health Sciences and Technology, MIT

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee for NEWDIGS is an advisory body, which meets once a quarter throughout the calendar year. The role of the Executive Committee is to contribute ideas for projects, vet new opportunities, and disseminate emerging insights and recommendations from NEWDIGS activities The Executive Committee will assist with outreach to potential sponsors and endorse the goals of NEWDIGS projects as well the alignment of new projects with NEWDIGS mission and priorities; It has no financial or fiduciary responsibility, nor does it make any product-specific decisions. Typical agenda items include research updates, workshop opportunities, new mini-consortia proposals and pending publications.

Gigi Hirsch, MD (Chair)
Executive Director, Center for Biomedical Innovation
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Cobbs, PhD
Head, Medical Policy & Quality Research
Merck & Co. Inc.

Nick Crabb, PhD
Program Director, Scientific Affairs
National Institute for Health & Clinical Excellence (NICE)

Hans-Georg Eichler, MD, MSc
Senior Medical Officer
European Medicines Agency

Anne-Virginie Eggimann, MSc 
Vice President, Regulatory Science
bluebird bio

Hilary M. Malone, PhD
Chief Regulatory Officer, Head of Global Regulatory Affairs

Edmund J. Pezalla, MD, MPH
Scholar in Residence
Duke-Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University

Kenneth A. Oye, PhD
Associate Professor of Political Science and Engineering Systems; Co-Director, MIT Program on Emerging Technologies
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Peter Saltonsall
President and CEO
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)

Harry Selker, MD, MSPH
Dean, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Institute for Clinical Research & Health Policy Studies Tufts University

Mark Trusheim, MSc
Strategic Director, NEWDIGS; Visiting Scientist, Sloan School of Management
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Affiliated Faculty and Researchers

Ramy Arnaout, MD, DPhil
Associate Director, Department of Pathology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ernest Berndt, PhD, MS
Louis E Seley Professor of Applied Economics, Sloan School of Management

Jeff Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Chester Drum, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, National University of Singapore

Judy Maro, PhD, MS
Research Affiliate, Center for Biomedical Innovation, Research Fellow in the Department of Population Medicine at Harvard Medical School and the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute

Kenneth A. Oye, PhD
Associate Professor of Political Science and Engineering Systems; Co-Director, MIT Program on Emerging Technologies, MIT

Nitin R. Patel, PhD
Research Affiliate, MIT Center for Biomedical Innovation; Founder, Chairman, and Chief Technology Officer, Cytel Statistical Software and Services

G.K. Raju, PhD
CBI Distinguished Fellow; Chairman, CBI Biomanufacturing Steering Committee; Executive Director, MIT Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Initiative

Allison Ackerman Shrier, MD
President, Riptide Management

J. Russell Teagarden, DMH, MA
Senior Health Care Practitioner, Independent Advisor, Researcher and Writer

Mark Trusheim, MSc
Strategic Director, NEWDIGS; Visiting Scientist, MIT Sloan School of Management; President, Co-Bio Consulting

Program Leadership Office

Gigi Hirsch, MD
Executive Director, NEWDIGS and CBI

Deborah L. Young, EMBA & Ed.M. 
Director of Operations

Kay Larholt, ScD
Director of Integrated Knowledge Solutions, WISDOM Program

Katie Torrence 
Project Coordinator, Financing and Reimbursement of Cures in the US (FoCUS)

Eric A. Small
Administrative Coordinator, NEWDIGS

Mo Yang, PhD
Health Economics and Financing Research Lead, Financing and Reimbursement of Cures in the US (FoCUS) Program